Therapy comes in many varieties, however the one that we are interested in is 'sound therapy'.

Sound therapy can do lots of things. For example it can restore certain frequencies in the ear, help to overcome learning difficulties, reduce anxiety and improve concentration. These are just a few of the potential things that this kind of therapy can do.

"Sound therapy can [...] help to overcome learning difficulties, reduce anxiety and improve concentration."

We became interested in this through looking at having speakers within the prosthesis to enhance or alter our sense of hearing. Alternatively it can change the sense of atmosphere too. This research has also led to 'infrasound', which is also something which we will explore. It has the potential to alter the mood of a person without the person having any realisation of why it is happening. This may very well fit into our project and ideas very well.

30/12/2013 06:17:54 am

I found this very interesting! I am also trying to create a prosthetic but of a different kind. I need all the help I can get and if you can help that would be great. I am in 8th grade and I am entering a science fair. My website isnt completely finished but if you can please help me out!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About the blog

    This blog is designed to track the progress of our project to create a prosthesis based on experiences from Ye Olde Trip To Jerusalem, an inn found in Nottingham. This is a group project run by 4 architecture students at Nottingham Trent University.

    Archives

    October 2013

    Categories

    All